book reviews
writing and publishing
podcast

Contests

0 writepress

The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton review

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam--a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion--a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. "There is nothing hidden that will not Continue Reading
0 writepress

Swing Time – Zadie Smith Review

Two brown girls dream of being dancers—but only one, Tracey, has talent. The other has ideas: about rhythm and time, about black bodies and black music, about what constitutes a tribe, or makes a person truly free. It's a close Continue Reading
0 writepress

Review – Sleep by CL Taylor

Sleep by CL Taylor is a gripping thriller that perfectly captures the paranoia of the main character. I have reviewed books by CL Taylor before and I absolutely loved reading both The Fear and The Escape. With Sleep, CL Taylor Continue Reading
0 writepress

Review: One Summer In Paris – Sarah Morgan

Overall, I love reading funny, romantic and light stories that you know end well for the main character. I have always loved reading Kat French and thus it was very easy for me to pick up One Summer In Paris Continue Reading
0 writepress

IGIST – L.S. Larson Review

L.S. Larson makes reading fun again. I was born in 1992 which puts me – give or take a few years – on the edge of kids not growing up with smartphones, and those who do. Because technology is so Continue Reading
0 writepress

The Siren Dead by C.F. Harrow Review

When C.F. Harrow gifted me this book, I had no idea what to expect. I had guessed it would be an epic adventure – and boy! I was right! C.F. Harrow sets out an action packed story filled with love Continue Reading
0 writepress

Review: Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge – Lisa Jensen

I really wanted to love this book. Retellings of fairy tails have always been a popular thing. Disney made us count down to midnight with Cinderella, long for the sand between our feet with the Little Mermaid or even stay Continue Reading
0 writepress

Review Summer on the Little Cornish Isles: The Starfish Studio (The Little Cornish Isles #3) by Phillipa Ashley

I absolutely bloody love Phillipa Ashley! Summer at The Cornish café was her first book I read (And I also think it was her first book with Avon). My gym was at my local library – same building and everything! Continue Reading

Stars and Nightmares by H.M. Wolfe and E.L. Nelson blog tour

Blurb A year after the previous events, with Alexander’s menacing shadow no longer lingering over their heads, the members of the Stark and Bloom clans are gathered at the Connecticut mansion for a well-deserved vacation. New members are welcomed with Continue Reading

Blog Tour – From the Darkness, Dragons’ House Book One

Daniel Fenelli is a man haunted by nightmares of a past he doesn’t remember. Distrustful impulsive cold. Daniel is a man of contrasts. He is also vulnerable, loving and warm. When his adoptive father, the respectable Detroit businessman and Mafia Continue Reading

Blog Tour – A Summer Scandal by Kat French

I fell in love with Kat French's writing at the first page of 'The Bed and Breakfast on the beach'. Her newest book, 'A Summer Scandal' is an amazing book to read by the pool or on the beach! Excerpt Continue Reading

The Sweetest Oblivion book spotlight and giveaway.

Danielle Lori's novels incorporate morally questionable heroes, electric hate to love relationships, and sometimes sweet but mostly sassy heroines. She has written in both the fantasy subgenre as well as contemporary, but will never stray from romance. A normal day Continue Reading