book reviews
writing and publishing
podcast

Contests

0 writepress

Review: The Accidental Beauty Queen By Teri Wilson

I. LOVE. books in which awkward people are already placed in an uncomfortable situation (as long as it is not me) and eventually learn something about themselves and their place in the world around them. This book promised exactly that Continue Reading
0 writepress

Review: This is going to hurt by Adam Kay

One day Adam receives a message that his authority to practice medicine is about to be withdrawn. We learn that Adam was an artisan in training who ultimately decided not to become a doctor. The letter makes him a bit Continue Reading
0 writepress

Book Review: The Last Letter by Rebecca Yarros

Beckett, If you’re reading this, well, you know the last-letter drill. You made it. I didn’t. Get off the guilt train, because I know if there was any chance you could have saved me, you would have. I need one Continue Reading
0 writepress

Book Review – Stepsister by Jennifer Donelly

'In an ancient city by the sea, three sisters - a maiden, a mother, and a crone - are drawing maps by candlelight. Sombre, with piercing grey eyes, they are the three Fates, and every map is a human life Continue Reading
0 writepress

Book Review: Season of the Witch – Sarah Rees Brennan

It is the summer before her sixteenth birthday, Sabrina Spellman knows that her world is about to change. Her life consists of studying magic and spells, hanging out with friends and going to the movies with her boyfriend Harvey Kinkle. Continue Reading
0 writepress

Book Review: The Widow by Fiona Barton

We all know who he is, the man who is suspected of a terrible crime. The monster. But who is the woman who clings to him on the steps of the court? Jean Taylor's life was wonderfully ordinary. Nice house, Continue Reading
0 writepress

Book Review: The Family Upstairs – Lisa Jewell

Just after her 25th birthday, Libby receives a message. She finally knows the identity of her biological parents, but she also inherits a stately but mostly abandoned, mansion - worth millions - in Chelsea, London. But what Libby cannot know Continue Reading
0 writepress

The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton review

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam--a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion--a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. "There is nothing hidden that will not Continue Reading

Stars and Nightmares by H.M. Wolfe and E.L. Nelson blog tour

Blurb A year after the previous events, with Alexander’s menacing shadow no longer lingering over their heads, the members of the Stark and Bloom clans are gathered at the Connecticut mansion for a well-deserved vacation. New members are welcomed with Continue Reading

Blog Tour – From the Darkness, Dragons’ House Book One

Daniel Fenelli is a man haunted by nightmares of a past he doesn’t remember. Distrustful impulsive cold. Daniel is a man of contrasts. He is also vulnerable, loving and warm. When his adoptive father, the respectable Detroit businessman and Mafia Continue Reading

Blog Tour – A Summer Scandal by Kat French

I fell in love with Kat French's writing at the first page of 'The Bed and Breakfast on the beach'. Her newest book, 'A Summer Scandal' is an amazing book to read by the pool or on the beach! Excerpt Continue Reading

The Sweetest Oblivion book spotlight and giveaway.

Danielle Lori's novels incorporate morally questionable heroes, electric hate to love relationships, and sometimes sweet but mostly sassy heroines. She has written in both the fantasy subgenre as well as contemporary, but will never stray from romance. A normal day Continue Reading