I. LOVE. books in which awkward people are already placed in an uncomfortable situation (as long as it is not me) and eventually learn something about themselves and their place in the world around them. This book promised exactly that and also a lot of bookish references. You really don’t have to say more to sell me a book.

Blurb

In this charming romantic comedy perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella, critically acclaimed author Teri Wilson shows us that sometimes being pushed out of your comfort zone leads you to the ultimate prize. Charlotte Gorman loves her job as an elementary school librarian, and is content to experience life through the pages of her books. Which couldn’t be more opposite from her identical twin sister. Ginny, an Instagram-famous beauty pageant contestant, has…

Review

Charlotte accompanies her sister Ginny to the beauty pageant final and plans to spend most of her time poolside with a good book and perhaps a mocktail within reach. Of her plans, however, little comes true when Ginny gets an allergic reaction so that her face is no longer the material of beauty pageants.

Pressured by her sister, Charlotte agrees to stand in for Ginny during the preliminaries. However, she soon notices that it is not easy to continue her double role when it turns out that the handsome guy she met earlier that trip is one of the jury members of the election. Oopsie.

This book is so very entertaining. As I expected, I was an instant fan of Charlotte. She is a real bookworm, a little bit introverted and horribly biased about the whole beauty pageant. Exactly the type you want to throw in such a situation for a lot of uncomfortable situations and hilarity.

What I found very unique about the book was the fact that romance was not the main focus of the book. It was much more about the dynamics between Charlotte and Ginny and I liked that. In any case, the romantic aspect of the book was not my favorite part. I thought it was quite predictable. From the moment Charlotte gets to know the mystery man, it is not difficult to guess which way their band would go. What I found very cool was his well-developed background. I had a hard time at the beginning to like him as he still participated in a refined meat inspection, but the author knows how to give him a wonderful motivation that makes him much more sympathetic.

The Accidental Beauty Queen is an entertaining story. Definitely a book worthy of the title feel-good.